Tags

, , ,

Welcome to my new blog.

I love to eat. And I love to drink wine. As a result, I am around 20 lbs or 9 kilograms (around a stone and a half) above my ideal weight. For the last five weeks (apart from a bank holiday weekend of bacchanalian excess where I leaped off the wagon into a vat of wine, my fall cushioned by fresh crusty bread and a crunchy topped lemon cake) I have been following a low carbohydrate way of eating, and have lost 12 lbs.

I’m not a low carb evangelist who’s going to try to convince you that this is the only way to eat – I think that there’s more than one way to skin a cat / lose the fat, personally. What I discovered, though, is that eating lots of fat (which I love) and lots of carbs (which I also love), especially in overwhelmingly delicious combinations and accompanied by copious amounts of good wine, causes me to expand at a disappointing rate. Most of my life I ate whatever I liked and stayed slim. My diet hadn’t changed that much, but sadly my metabolism finally has.

So, I don’t want to be fat, but I do love eating rich food. If I’m going to lose weight, I decided that I had to make a choice between fat and carbs. I chose fat, for many reasons which I plan to share with you on this blog.

So why the blog? Why not just quietly get on with my diet oops we aren’t allowed to say that; it’s a ‘way of eating’ doncha know. ๐Ÿ˜‰ and not join a blogosphere already groaning under the weight of millions of foodies? Well, as with my other blog, this is a way of documenting what I’m learning as I go along. I’m a bit of a cynical old bugger, and tend not to take at face value whatย people tell me / write / insist is absolutely the whole truth / publish in reasonably priced, unreferenced books. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I quite like to go and have a shufty at the actual evidence, and if I’m doing that then I may as well write about it here.

I have nothing to sell, and no axe to grind – if I find evidence that this way of eating is unhealthy, then I’ll stop, and tell you all about it. I have an interest in human biology and a degree in health sciences, so I’m going to enjoy trying to understand and explain the science of all this in a (hopefully) readable way. I’ll be looking at other ways of eating too – low GI/GL (very sensible and doable) and paleo (nice idea, but seriously, no cheese?? That isn’t going to work for me…), and trying / adapting recipes from all sorts of places.

Because ultimately, that’s what this blog is about – me being able to get excited about what I’m about to eat. So I’ll be posting recipes and food ideas, some made up and some from books / t’internet whatever, and photographing the result. I’ve never done any food photography, really, so bear with me!

You can read more about me, if you are so inclined, on my other blog here.

If you’ve read this, don’t bother to read the ‘about me’ page for now – it’ll be this post for the time being.

